Updates and surgery

I promised you an updated post when I was posting the fire stuff, so here it is!

1) A few weeks ago, we bought the Boy a training potty. He’s not quite ready yet, but we’re slowly working on it. He can pull his pants up (in the front, they get stuck on his diaper in the back!), and he’s learning how to pull them down. The last few days, when we ask him if he has a dirty/stinky butt (when we know he does), he’s started nodding in the affirmative. He hasn’t ever answered in the affirmative for anything. Up to this point, he has only known how to shake his head no! So…progress. I think once he can talk, it will go faster. He will have the WORDS to tell us when he’s dirty, instead of waiting for us to ask.

2) The Boy knows how to make up his “milkula” – milk + formula, because he still won’t eat solids. He’s working on it, but…we aren’t pushing it because I’m just going to have to take them away completely for 3 weeks after his surgery. At any rate, he’ll get my attention with his cup and we will take it to the kitchen. He walks to the area of the counter that holds his formula and try to put his sippy up there (he is now fully on a sippy!), but can’t reach so I do it. Then we walk to the fridge and he “helps” me open it. Next, he’ll grab the milk jug off the shelf. Yes, he can pull it off, even full. Full he can’t actually carry, but the rest he can. He’ll either push it across the floor, carry it in his arms, or one of us will “help” him by taking a bit of the weight off for him. He takes it to the counter and tries to open it. We fill his drink and give him back the milk, open the fridge door for him, and he puts the milk back EXACTLY where he got it from!

3) He has learned the phrase “Put it back” and follows pretty well. He will try to put the item back EXACTLY where it came from, if he can, and looks worried when he can’t. It sometimes takes a few tries to get him to do it – like when he has my footstool – but he’ll even put his laundry basket away and put clothes back in the basket.

4) Speaking of footstool…the little bugger has figured out how to stand on it and open doors! I was taking a shower the other day while Aaron was home to watch the Boy. I made sure the door was shut completely, as I’ve had a visitor before a few times and it’s one of my few illusory baby-free times. Suddenly I hear the door open and see a little face peeking at me around the curtain. I called for Aaron, who came in and figured it out! I can’t believe the Boy was smart enough to do it. I mean, I know he knows how doors open. He will take our car keys, stab the front door, and then try to open the doorknob. He can barely reach it, but I didn’t think he had the manual dexterity to actually turn it if he could reach it. I was apparently wrong. We are hosed. He won’t be able to open the front door until A) we take the baby gate down, which isn’t happening any time in the next several years and B) he can reach and turn the deadbolt, which sticks.

5) I have started back on BCP. My cycles got all screwed up. All my life, my cycle has been between 23 & 28 days, average of 25. I had a 31 day when I had a chemical pregnancy oh so many years ago. It showed up last June, a few months after the Boy was born, and everything seemed okay…until October, when I had a 39 day cycle. That was just irritating and scary, because I KNEW I wasn’t pregnant (we made sure it can’t happen) but I had no idea why it wasn’t there. Then we were back on track…until February when it was 20 days. March was 18, and April was 41! Something was wrong, but all my bloodwork came back normal. Then my cysts started freaking out – bursting all over, which meant they were growing. I was starting to grow hair in random spots again. The decision was made to put me on BCP to control it. I cannot state this next part strongly enough: The type of BCP you go on for PCOS matters. The different hormones do different things and the first one I went on was one of the worst I could have been on, but since I suggested it and the doc knows I do my research, he went with it. Only I hadn’t, because I didn’t realize it mattered. Look here for information on what is best and why. I have since switched from Seasonale to Yaz and things are going better. Except, you know, for being in the bathroom most of the day every day for a week and a half. I wasn’t done with that aspect before the breakthrough bleeding started and lasted for almost two weeks. I got to the end of the pills and no cycle showed up, so now I’m expecting it to show up in the middle again. The bathroom stuff didn’t start up again, though, so yay? I think it was going straight from one to the other with no break – it was just too much for my system to handle. I meet with the doc at the end of next month. He wanted to give it a couple of cycles, if I could handle it, to see what it’s going to do.

6) And the most important thing: The Boy has surgery in 8 days. 8 days, people. I’m not overly worried about the surgery itself, although I fully plan on taking xan.ax before I go so I DON’T freak out when I see him in the hospital bed/crib/whatever, all covered in tubes and needles and…GAH! I have already stated repeatedly that I am not going to leave the hospital, but I think Aaron is going to force me to. We plan on never leaving him without a parent in the room, just in case something happens or the docs/nurses have questions or he needs soothing. I can’t fathom being willing to leave him, even though logically I know I’m going to get tired of being in there and need a break, and he’s going to mostly want his daddy. But…my kid is injured (so to speak) and leave him? Are you kidding me? What really has me stressed right now is the after-care aspect: How do I dress him when we have no onesies or shirts that button up the front and he’ll be in elbow splints? Because apparently if I take them off, I’m going to destroy the seal in his mouth and we’ll have to do this again. Just ask Dr. D! And I have to drop him off at daycare. How are they going to handle him? Will they dose him right and be able to deal with him? I know they’re trained but…that’s my kid. I was already nervous about putting him in daycare before I found out his surgery was going to be 4 days before school started. How am I going to get him on an eating schedule? Because he won’t be able to feed himself – see aforementioned “can’t take off elbow splints” – and right now he gets drink whenever he wants it, not on a schedule. How is he going to sleep? He’ll have those splints on, and he’s a tummy sleeper. We put him on his back (because “back is best”) and he rolls right over. Well, if he can’t bend his arms, how in the hell is he going to roll over? Or crawl around the crib? Or flip himself back over when he doesn’t want to be on his tummy any more? And how am I going to get him to go to sleep in the first place? We still rock him down (and we’re working on a modified CIO) for 10 minutes, but the position he likes to be in on me isn’t going to work if he can’t bend his damn arms. It’s a lot of little things, things that don’t really matter in the big picture, but…I’m a control freak. I can’t control the surgery – I have to trust Dr. D and the ear tube surgeon for those – but we are responsible for his after care, and a large part of that is going to fall on me when he’s not in daycare. I’m panicking.

So that’s what’s going on over here. The Boy is developing in leaps and bounds. He’s having surgery and I’m worried. My health is all screwed up but I’m working on fixing it. Oh! And I’ve lost 22# so far this year, and with the school year starting back up, I stand to lose more. I actually eat regularly when I’m in school, and I’m doing Tai Chi again this semester. Yay!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. The surgery will be ok. For reals. It’s hard to see how it will all work out, but within a couple of days it will seem like old hat. And you’ll cross the days off the calendar until those splints can come off, and give him a giant piece of cake to celebrate after.

    Seriously, I know, It’s terrifying and you have no idea how it will work out, but it will.

    Reply
  2. Yay for growth and progress! That’s really cool!

    Don’t know what to tell you about the hospital. That’s going to be scary. But if it looks like the nursing staff knows what they’re doing, I’d try to trust them to some degree. Go home every once in a while, get some rest. You’ll need your strength (emotional and physical) to take care of him when he gets home, when there isn’t a staff of professionals to take care of him.

    As for the IVs and whatnot – It’ll be hard, but you’ll do it. And remember how it’d be without them.

    Reply
  3. ‘They grow up so fast’ is so cliche, but they DO, don’t they?

    I have so many horror stories of my BCP days, I tried so many different kinds.

    He will get through the surgery and be fine. You will get through the surgery and be fine. I know how little that helps, but I’m here for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 6 other followers

