Here we go again!

The 26th was our 9th anniversary. I can’t believe he’s put up with my shit for that long. We will have been together a decade in January! I still keep expecting him to get fed up and leave one of these days.

That day, I stayed home with The Boy. He was lethargic and grumpy. At around 11:00AM, he came up to me and put his head on my leg, then patted my leg like we do his back. I decided to see what was up and put him in his crib. Less than 5 minutes and he was out solid, so I didn’t go to class. Last Saturday (as in the 29th), The Boy spiked a fever of 102.5 and threw up in his crib at 4:30am. He and daddy got to take a bath, mama got to do laundry. Yay! Monday, Aaron and I woke up with sore throats, but the child seemed fine. I mean, it’s not like he can tell us if his throat hurts or anything, but since he was acting fine and had no fever, I assume he was fine. We, on the other hand, not so much. Aaron really didn’t get much beyond a sore throat and a little sinus issue. I, on the other hand, felt like I was going to DIE my head hurt so much. SO MUCH PRESSURE! And then, joy of joys, it moved to my chest…where it will stay for the next 2-3 weeks because my lungs SUCK at getting rid of things.

Thursday night, The Boy threw up in his crib again, twice, and ended up sleeping in the PnP because we only have two sets of sheets. Friday, he threw up 2 more times and I called the doc because this was highly unusual. We ended up taking him to urgent care and we are still waiting on lab results. Meanwhile, he threw up a few more times yesterday, but none today. Partially because we’ve been keeping up on the Zo.fran we have left over from May, and the urgent care people called us in some too. We’ve barely kept him from becoming dehydrated and the only reason he hasn’t is because we NOW know what to do thanks to the rotavirus in May. Which? I’m seriously worried that’s what this is again. He still hasn’t had the vaccine – he gets it in a few weeks at his 18 month appt.

Yes, 18 months. How am I the mother of a 1 1/2 year old child? How have we all survived? Daycare has been going well. He was hesitant at first and still throws a small fit when I leave, but apparently he stops as soon as I am out of sight. He is now free of all eating restrictions, so he’ll be able to have whatever snack they are having at daycare. I am still going to send snacks with him just in case he won’t eat what they have, but now it’s not necessary! I’m so glad he can eat whatever – now to just get him to eat solids. He’s perfectly happy with formula, thanks, and that’s just no longer acceptable. He NEEDS to be eating a lot more solids than he will take in right now and I am about to get mean about it. Just as soon as we’re all feeling better, that is….
(ETA: I spoke too soon. No sooner did I say we’d made it through the day without him puking then he puked all over the mat under my desk. If my feet weren’t on a footstool, he’d have gotten them.)

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Happy anniversary!

    I’m sorry about the pukes and the sicknesses and the excessive laundry. Does not sound fun. I hope you’re all better soon.

    Yay for no restrictions though! Now let’s find something for that boy to love eating!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5 other followers

